The Council meets on the third Monday in January, the second Monday in May, and just before and after the Assembly in September.

The Council is at present (November, 1930) composed of the following States Members of the League:—

Permanent Members: British Empire (United Kingdom), France, Germany, Italy, Japan.

Non-Permanent Members: Colombia, Guatemala, Irish Free State, Norway, Persia, Peru, Poland, Spain, Venezuela, Yugoslavia.

The Assembly.—Every State Member of the League is entitled to be represented by a delegation to the Assembly composed of not more than three delegates and three substitute delegates, but it has only one vote. It meets at the seat of the League (Geneva) on the first Monday in September. It may meet at other places than Geneva, but hitherto it has never done so; extraordinary sessions may be called to deal with urgent matters.

The President is elected at the first meeting of the session, and holds office for the duration of the session.

The Assembly divides itself into the following six principal committees, on each of which every State Member of the League has the right to be represented by one delegate:

- 1. Juridical.
- 2. Technical Organizations.
- 3. Disarmament.
- 4. Budget and Staff.
- 5. Social Questions.
- 6. Political Questions and Admission of New Members.

The decisions of the Assembly must be voted unanimously, except where the Covenant or the Peace Treaties provide otherwise. As a general principle decisions on questions of procedure are voted by majority or in some cases by a two-thirds majority.

The Secretariat.—The Secretariat is a permanent organ composed of the Secretary-General and a number of officials selected from among citizens of all Member States and from the United States of America. The Secretary-General, appointed by the Peace Conference, is the Hon. Sir James Eric Drummond, K.C.M.G., C.B.; hereafter the Secretary-General will be appointed by the Council with the approval of the majority of the Assembly. The other officials are appointed by the Secretary-General with the approval of the Council.

The Under-Secretaries-General are: M. J. Avenol, former French Inspector-General of Finance (Deputy Secretary-General); Marchese Paulucci di Calboli Barone, former Italian Minister Plenipotentiary; Herr A. Dufour-Feronce, former German Counsellor of Embassy; M. Yotaro Sugimura, former Japanese Minister Plenipotentiary.